"
At that moment you may laugh but there is someone there who will be laughing louder than you."


19.12.09

A deluge of failed attempts

It's just past 2 am saturday morning, and hey - who needs sleep when you can blog update !?

Just finished watching Inglorious Basterds which, I might add, is a spectacularly brilliant piece of directing and directing. Eli Roth is a god. (No, don't correct me, I am fully aware he did not direct here. I'm simply gushing in my love for him)
Later today is another best friend's 18th party. I'm excited, but yes. Yet another reminder of how long I have to go before I am fully legal and can stop hotspotting the only 3 places I know I can get into. One particular dilemma I seem to be having is deciphering the meaning of "Smart casual". I've seen it before, I've heard people attempt to define it, yet, I'm still at a loss. Is it formal, but with a hint of casual ? Is it business suits with the tie undone ? I have to appreciate the simplicity of the single worded dresscodes - "Casual", "Formal", "Semi-formal", "Dress-up"; granted, the last two there was hyphenated, but they still count that as one word nowadays, don't they ? Don't get me wrong, I'm not going to be rocking up in a full length victorian-era ball gown, but where do we draw the line ? How formal is too formal, and how casual is not formal enough ? Getting all philosophical here. Wow. Items I need (not want, but actually need due to a severe lack of functioning item):

Exhibit A: Epilator

Exhibit B: No, not legs. Skin-coloured tights

Exhibit C: Money. And lots of it.

Exhibit D: Bookshelf, with more books.

Obviously not all in that specific order (:


16.12.09

Paralyse me with your kiss

So this appears to be the beginning of the summer, with a lovely 39 degree day (*dies*), although as much as everyone may seem to revel in the fact the sun has finally made an appearance and decided to warm the southern hemisphere during a time that is traditionally (and somewhat favourably) associated with wonderful white flakes of ice, I decided to spend my day inside, only venturing out, and burning my feet in the process, to retreive the junkmail.

How did I spend my day, you may ask ? Well, you probaby won't, I'm sure you were too busy drowning yourselves in fruity refreshments to care, nevertheless I was spending my time the only way one should on a day such as this : Watching The Evil Dead.

For those who have never witnessed the golden classic of gore that is this film - It is about a group of five friends that drive up into the mountains to stay at a cabin in the woods where they find "an unspeakable evil lurking in the forest. They find the Necronomicon, The Book Of The Dead, and the taped translation of the text. Once the tape is played, the evil is released," and one by one the friends are possessed and turned into zombie-like creatures until only Ash is left
to survive the night. (Taken from the dvd blurb).
Definitely a good choice from the video store next time you swing by it - thoroughly enjoyable and fun, but not reccomended to those with a weak stomach, though the cheesy gore effects make it all the more better. And to top it off, Bruce Campbell - who plays Ash -despite his fluffy seventies haircut, and being doused in blood by the end of the film, is totally babing it.

Anyone else think the deadites somewhat resemble a young Linda Blair as Regan MacNeil ?